About ORBRC - Club Awards



ORBRC's "Rotarian of the Year" Award


Charlotte Bowers  was named ORBRC's Rotarian of the Year award for 2017





In 1986, Clyde Hopkins was named the club’s first “Man of the Year.” The honor was renamed “Rotarian of the Year” in 1991 when the award went to Wanda Craven, the club’s first woman member.  In 1995, Wanda became our first woman president.






This award winner is chosen by ORBRC's Club Awards Committee each year.  :The winner receives a $1,000 donation to the Rotary Foundation or to the ORBRC Foundation, or to some combination of the two.











 A winner of this award meets most or all of the following criteria:

Charlotte Bowers was named "Rotarian of the Year" during ORBRC's January 24, 2018 meeting.  She was selected by the club's Awards Committee:  Mary Lou Auxier, Judy Gray, Jim Palmer, Pete Peterson, and Chair Dub Shults.  She was cited for extensive service rendered to ORBRC and to the community.  Charlotte is known as one who is always ready to help and a great team player, She is a Paul Harris Fellow with an outstanidng attendance record.  Charlotte represents our club well in the community by working with other organizations, primarily working with young people and the homeless in the community.  She has served as one of our Sargeants at Arms for several years and in so doing has rendered direct help to each and every  member and guest that attends club meetings.  Charlotte Bowers truly exemplifies ORBRC's Rotarian of the Year.  

Former "Rotarian of the Year" winners are:

1986 Clyde Hopkins
1987 Roy Pruett
1988 Dave Coffey*
1989 Bo Harris*
1990 Robin Textor*
1991 Wanda Craven
1992 David Wilson
1993 Herman Postma
1994 Dan Robbins*
1995 Joe Lenhard*
1996 Ruby Miller*
1997 Dub Shults*
1998 Larry Dipboye
1999 JoAnn Garrett*
2000 Frank Jamison
2001 Ken Brady
2002 Karen Bridgeman
2003 Randy Shults
2004 Jim Bradbury*
2005 Gus Sadler
2006 Lou Rabinowitz*
2007 Pat Postma*
2008 Robin Textor*
2009 Cathy Toth*
2010 Tom Lakers*
2011 Linda Brown* & Dave McCoy
2012 Tom Clary*
2013 Brenda Thornburgh*
2014 Pat Imperato*
2015 Jim Palmer*

2016 Judi Gray 

2017  Charlotte Bower                  



  To view a copy of the nomination form, click here.   







 ORBRC's "Service Above Self" Award    

Jo Bruce received ORBRC's Service Above Self award for 2016 
Dub Shults presented the award.

President Wilbur "Dub" Shults established ORBRC's Service Above Self award in 2000, to honor non-Rotarians and organizations that have performed exceptional,sacrificial service within the community over an extended period of time.  In the context of this award, "service" designates sustained personal effort of a volunteer nature that is not a component of an individual's occupation.  In essence, the award strives to recognize those who do wondrous things for others, but are likely to go unrecognized. The award provides a $1,000 contribution to the effort of the winner or to a charity or charities designated by the winner.

Winners of the Service Above Self award must meet most if not all of the following criteria:

For 30 years Jo Bruce has been a highly regarded and respected volunteer and advocate for children (and their families) in our community.  She has advocated at the State level for the safety and education in schools and worked with numerous organizations in the community to improve the welfare of others.  She is a recipient of YWCA's Patriotic Advocacy award.  Her nomination states: "Jo has devoted her life to advocacy for children."   It ends with: "Jo is loved by everyone she serves."  Jo is indeed an example of Service above Self.


Former winners of the award are: 

2000 Hugh and Lucy Parker

2001 Bob Dreyer

2002 Margaret Allard

2003 Tim Myrick

2004 Judy Statzer

2005 Oak Ridge Rowing Association

2006 Keys Fillauer

2007 Ruth Ann Maddox

2008 Diantha Pare

2009 Minnie Thompson

2010 Mary Helen Rose

2011 No award

2012 Free Medical Clinic

2013 Dottie Thompson

2014 Sheila Michel

2015 Jim and Mary Ann Hardy

2016 Jo Bruce


 To view a copy of the nomination form, click here.


ORBRC's "Chidren of the World" Monument

This sculpture was given to the City of Oak Ridge by the Oak Ridge Breakfast Rotary Club.  It reflects the great concern that Rotary has for children around the world, and it visibly connects ORBRC to the community.  It is located at the corner of Oak Ridge Turnpike and South Tulane Avenue, in Alvin K. Bissell Park, adjacent to the Rotary Commemortive Walk.                                                                                                         

Eric Anthony Nuchols (1961-2007) was the sculptor who created “Children of the World.”  He was a 1980 granduate of Oak Ridge High School.  He served in the U. S. Army, 82nd Airborne Division.  According to his obituary in The Oak Ridger of July 30, 2007, “Mr. Nuchols worked for many years with Pathway Bellows, which became Senior Flextronics Pathway. He was part of a specialty welding team, which took him to many different countries around the world.  He was a local artist who received tremendous recognition throughout East Tennessee for his works of art using the medium of stainless steel and heat, and spent months heating, cooling, pounding and rolling a sheet of stainless steel into a dramatic work of religious art.”


The sculpture was conceived and created under the guidance of ORBRC's President Wanda Craven.  It's design reflects Rotary International's theme of the year for 1950, entitled Children of the World.   

President Wanda had a special interest in needy children.  She initiatted our Christmas Angels project, which serves Willow Brook Elementary School students who might otherwise face a bleak holiday season.and she established a cooperative relationship with an orphanage in Russia.  She .remains an Honorary member of our club.