About ORBRC Foundation - History



The Oak Ridge Breakfast Rotary Club Foundation

The ORBRC Foundation was organized in 2012 as a 501 (c) (3) organization classified as a public charity.  As such, the Foundation is a non-profit corporation with tax exempt status and is qualified to receive tax deductible bequests, transfers, and gifts.  The Foundation partners with the Oak Ridge Breakfast Rotary Club (ORBRC) to raise and donate money for charitable, educational, scientific, and literary purposes in the Oak Ridge community and neighboring counties in East Tennessee.  Its primary purpose is to promote relief of the poor, the distressed, and/or the underprivileged, and to further education, science, vocational, and literary activities in the local area.

The Foundation provides financial support to deserving organizations through a Community Action Grant process which entails a public call for applications, review and ranking of applications by a Selection Committee comprised of representatives of ORBRC and the ORBRC Foundation, and selection of successful applications by the Foundation Board of Directors.  Grants run for one year, at which time grantees must account for monies granted and report on the activities rendered.  The Selection Committee consists of Foundation officers (president, vice president, secretary, treasurer) plus ORBRC members appointed by the ORBRC Board of Directors, including the ORBRC Immediate past president.

  The Community Action Grant schedule is as follows;

               -Applications accepted:                 Present through May 14

               -Ranking and Selection:                 May 14 through June 15

               -Grants awarded:                            June 15 through June 29

               -Reports submitted by:                   June 14 of the following year


To access grant criteria and an application form, click here.


The Board of Directors of the ORBRC Foundation is comprised of:  

               President:                                          Emily Jernigan

               Vice President:                                 James Wilson

               Secretary:                                          Jim Rushton

               Treasurer:                                         Joe McGrory

               Directors                                           Charles Crowe

                                                                        Jim Michel

                                                                        Lucky Vogt

                                                                        Pat Postma


The ORBRC Foundation welcomes donations from non-Rotarians as well as Rotarians, and from other charitable organizations as well as Rotary clubs.